Patches Quilting & Sewing, Mt. Airy, Maryland

September 27, 2010

Thank You’s!

Filed under: Events — by Toni @ 10:17 am

I would like to say a big thank you to the Ladies of Project Linus. On Tuesday, September 21st, these ladies hosted a “Thank You” luncheon for Patches staff. We had a sit down lunch with table cloths, real china and real silverware. The food was great. We has salad, meatballs, Jello mold, cakes, cookies and so much more. I was totally surprised and appreciated the acknowledgment of the contribution of Patches, by way of time and space and material, for them to make the beautiful quilts that are donated to charity.

You can see pictures from this event  on our Facebook Fan Page along with pictures from the luncheon with Sue Hausmann.

I would also like everyone know how thankful I am to have the staff and customers that I do. I was recently able to go on vacation with my daughter, Jennifer, for 10 days. We went to Switzerland, Germany and France and due to a comedy of errors, we did not have cell phone service. I was only able to communicate with the store by way of e-mail. Other business owners may have panicked, but I was completely at ease because I knew that things could run smoothly in my absence.

Jennifer and I went on this trip to visit textile museums and to attended the Patchwork Meeting in France. During this trip I found out just how lucky we are to have the quilting supplies that we have available to us at such reasonable prices. Fabric overseas is measured in meters and it starts at about 10.5 Euros a meter which translates into about $14-15 per yard as a minimum. It took some time for me to find local fabric, as many of the vendors there carry Robert Kaufman, Michael Miller, Jinny Beyer, Moda and Benartex, just to name a few. Sometime in the future (we all know that phrase) I hope to be able to put together a memory quilt for Jennifer and I. I will post progress on this project as it moves along.

Again – A big THANK YOU to everyone that helped in my absence.

Jackie

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

